Level 3 Education and Training (OCR)

sievemk ocr education and training PTLLS

As of September 2013, the QCF Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector (PTLLS) has undergone some changes: renaming and restructuring. It has now become CIEH Level 3 Award in Education and Training.

Duration of Course: Part-time & flexible

Awarding Body: OCR

GLH: 48-62

Credits: 12

Who is it for?

New entrants to the lifelong learning sector who don’t have prior teaching experience or qualifications. It also suits people in teaching already who want to gain formal qualifications.

Basic Requirement

Prior knowledge of the subject you would like to teach or be working towards a qualification in that area.

Entry Criteria

There are no formal entry requirements, however, learners are required to possess the basic standards of English, Mathematics, and Information Communication Technology skills required to undertake this qualification.

Completing the Award

PTLLS is a classroom taught pathway achieved by gathering a range of evidence and delivering a 15 minute micro-teach session. This pathway is for those learners who do not have any teaching responsibilities or current teachers who wish to undertake the qualification in a classroom based setting. The qualification may consist of the following units:

1. Roles, responsibilities and relationships in Lifelong Learning (M/503/1229)

2. Understanding inclusive learning and teaching in Lifelong Learning (T/503/1233)

2. Using Inclusive Learning and teaching approaches in Lifelong Learning (Y/503/1242)

3. Principles of Assessment in Lifelong Learning (Y/503/1239)

A variety of teaching and learning methods are employed throughout the programme in order to ensure the acquisition and development of the appropriate knowledge, understanding, skills and competences to achieve the learning outcomes.

Learners will be guided and directed to areas of research and appropriate background reading in order to complete the required assignments.


A candidate achieving a Level 3 Award in Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Leaning Sector has the following progression routes available:

OCR Level 4 Award in Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector
OCR Level 4 Certificate in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector (CTTLS)
OCR Level 5 Diploma in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector (DTTLS)

| Award in Education and Training (PTLLS)- Level 3